All about Fall…

For the last two weeks, I’ve been feeling that it’s autumn, then being surprised when I leave the office and the temperature here in Ottawa is far closer to 30 degrees Celsius than 20!  I couldn’t understand it at all, at all.

Then, the mystery cleared, thanks to Steph’s post today at Three Hours Past.   Today, she wrote about light and color.  As I was reading, it all fell into place for me.

It’s not the slightly cooler nights and mornings.  It’s not the slightly shorter days.  The “Fall Trigger” for me is the quality of the light!

We’re now at that time of year where the light is almost a liquid amber.  Where rusts and browns and tans and oranges and greens just seem to come into their own.

THAT’s why I’ve been feeling that it’s fall.  That’s why the fabrics I’ve purchased have all been heavier textured “fall” colors, regardless of the thermometer.  My eyes have been telling me that the bright summer colors just look jaded and wrong right now and that it’s time to get on with the warm and cozy.

It’s the same in my home.

I snapped this picture at 4:45pm with no artificial light and no photo shopped adjustments.  It’s obviously not dark, but it is dimmer and the quality of the colors has changed.  In a few hours, this room will be almost dark – and that’s with no coverage on the patio door!

To me, autumn is a time of subtle light.  So I brought this mirror in to help bounce the available light around.  It’s just leaning right now until I figure out two things.  First, how high do I hang it?  Second, what color do I paint the lovely gold trim (that looked terrific in my last living room, but just doesn’t make the cut here!)?

I think the mirror will be getting a pewter type finish… that should tie in much better with the mercury glass, the typewriter, the white bookcases and the candle sconces.  That pretty antique gold just looks brassy and tacky in this spot.

It will also get turned 90 degrees so that it takes up more space horizontally than vertically.  It’s a rather large mirror, but is dwarfed leaning there, isn’t it?

If you have any ideas about what finish I should go with or how high it should be hung, I’d love to hear them.  I’d also be interested in any advice about hanging a 25 pound mirror on a brittle drywall that is too close to the external cement to use a heavy duty anchor!

I’m off to my sewing room to fondle my fall colored and textured fabrics now!  With the air conditioner blowing in my direction!

I blame the light.

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

4 thoughts on “All about Fall…

  1. Have you decided what colour to do the frame? I think a pewter would look great! Or if you could find either a blue that sort of matches the cushion on the chair, or even possibly a burgundy would add an interesting pop of colour but i’m not sure if it would be too much… As for how high, I’m thinking I would suggest either centering it, or making it so the middle of the mirror lines up with the scones…. Have you hung it yet? I am a little late in commenting 🙂

  2. Hi there! First time commenting by the way:-)
    I have been following your journey of decorating your cozy home for a little while now. I think the mirror looks great leaning against the wall where it is! Painting the frame pewter would look lovely. If you do decide to hang the mirror I have purchased hooks for heavier items at the hardware store. The package contains picture wire,brass/gold hooks with either 2 or 3 ”prongs”, and small nails. Sometimes if you’re lucky the package will state how many pounds each hook will support. Quite often if I am unsure if one hook will suffice I will just put up two, slightly apart so the wire is suspended across both. Hope that makes sense and is of some help.:-)
    By the way, I love the paint colour on your living room walls.

    • Thank you, Kim! I’ve been considering the hooks, but the drywall is rather brittle and there’s not enough room between the drywall and the concrete exterior structure to allow for an anchor. It’s very frustrating!

Leave a Reply

