An Empty Guest Room Reveal

I had BARELY gotten the guest room in order when my Mom came to visit.  She’s spending the weekend with my sister before heading back home to Dad, so the room is empty and ready for photos.

You know what?  I’d gladly skip the photos and still have her here.  Really.  After all, what use is a pretty room if it doesn’t have anyone to enjoy it?

That’s where sharing with you comes in!  I hope you like it as much as she did.  Mind you, I didn’t manage to get photos of the really cute little basket of toiletries or the two new copies of her favorite books, so you’ll just have to imagine those!

When you first open the door, you’re greeted with a doorless closet.  It was the perfect size to slide in the dresser with mirror.  There’s even room on each side of the dresser to hang a few articles of clothing from the rod.  As you can tell, I haven’t staged much yet… but I’m working on it!

The dresser is topped with cut-outs from plastic overlays I purchased at the Dollarama and painted with Benjamin Moore’s Turquoise Powder.  I glued them in place, but haven’t yet gotten a sealer on there!

Here’s a shot of what you see when looking into the mirror from the doorway.  The window treatment is simply lace mesh curtains with a roller blind.  Simple, light and airy – but the roller blind does allow the room to be sufficiently dark at night time.  (There is a stop light just a quarter block outside of this window, and the light can be distracting!)

The mirror was a Salvation Army find.  I removed the mirror from the ornate resin frame it had been in and beaded the  edge with a peyote stitch.  I used plastic pearls and turquise sequins to create a “frame”, then hung it centered with the dresser.  Here’s a closer shot of the trim.

If you turn your head slightly, while still standing in the doorway, you’ll see the rattan chair I found curbside!  I just had to do a few repairs, then paint it white for it to be perfect here.

The hanging lamp came from a local yard sale and, after I painted over the turned oak beads on it, it fit in perfectly!  It’s a hit of color that isn’t found ANYWHERE else in the house and casts such a nice warm glow when lit.

I hung the Keep Calm sign higher than I normally would for placement beside a chair, but I’m planning on putting a table in here and didn’t want the sign to be obstructed!

If you stand with your back to the chair, you get to see the Chinese Silk Embroidery artwork that my friend, Laura, gave me.  It’s PERFECT here!  I didn’t do a thing to it other than hang it.

Now that we’ve come through the “foyer” of the room, let’s have a look at the rest, shall we?

The lamp bases also came from the local yard sale.  They were originally black wrought iron that a previous owner had painted white.  A few coats of red and I was very happy with them!  Simple white shades from the Salvation Army finish them off.  The little red dish is perfect for putting your jewelery in or for setting down a glass of water.

The ornamental frame I removed from the oval mirror became the basis to the “Thompson 1987” artwork I made.  With the white, yellow and turquoise, it has exactly the cottagey feel I like for this room.

I used the overlays on the night stand I refurbished as well.  This time, though, I placed them on the front of the piece.  It was a bit challenging to work around the handles, so I ended up simply painting in a portion of the design to keep it relatively seamless.

I made the headboard and the table topper out of fabric my friend Roxane downsized.  The bed skirt fabric came from the same source!

Another oval!  This mirror came from Laura, and didn’t need a thing.  It brings a nice touch of wood to the room.  The oval table was made by my grandfather about 40 years ago.  I’ll be re-doing the top of it, and you’ll get to see more of it then!

This framed English cottage print was given to me by a friend several years ago.  It seems to have found it’s home.

With your back to the framed print and the window, this is your view.

Now you’ve had the grand tour!  I hope you enjoyed it.

There are still some projects to be done in this room.  I’m working on a cushion for the chair, and I definitely need some decorative pillows for the bed.  The dresser and night stand both need sealer.  My grandfather’s table needs a bit of work and I definitely need to figure out how to decorate that closet shelf!

Nonetheless, it was pretty and ready for my Mom.  I really like this room.  It’s sunny and feminine, but not so girly that a male guest will cringe.  In fact, when the Ogre is working bizarre shifts, I may even find myself sleeping here – and it won’t be a hardship at all!

If you have any suggestions for the closet shelf, I’d love to hear them!  That really has me stumped.

Sharing this here…

UndertheTableandDreamingBecolorful DIY Show Off
52 Mantels In The Old Road

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

13 thoughts on “An Empty Guest Room Reveal

  1. Beautiful job on the details. It’s lovely! How about a white wooden insert for the shelf with a decorative over-hang (fancy trim)? Maybe add some white baskets with goodies for guests/more storage or a stack of books for reading material. ?

  2. Its great to see that empty guest room revealed. I really like the design and the ambiance of that guest room. I think that its great to have a clean and attractive guest room at home.

  3. What a wonderful guest room. I especially love the night stand. Thanks for sharing at the All Star Block Party!

    Holly

Leave a comment